Breaking News

BREAKING: INEC Declares Obiano Winner of Anambra Governorship Election [See Results]

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the All Progressives Grand Alliance candidate, Willie Obiano, the winner of the Anambra governorship election.
The incumbent governor won all the 21 local government areas of the state, based on the results announced on Sunday at the collation centre in Awka.
Obiano, who is of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), defeated Tony Nwoye of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Oseloka Obaze of the People Democratic Party (PDP) and Osita Chidoka of United Progressive Party (UPP).
Obiano APGA. 234,071
Nwoye APC. 98,752
Obaze. PDP. 70,593
Chidoka. UPP. 7,746
The APGA candidate secured 234,071 votes while Nwoye came second with 98,752 votes and Obaze placed third, garnering 70,593 votes.
Osita Chidoka was fourth, securing 7,746 votes.
The election had 37 governorship candidates who sought to govern Anambra.
The process was relatively peaceful and smooth but some polling units witnessed snatching of ballot boxes and inducement of voters by some of the political parties.
The heavy deployment of security agencies also prevented the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB) from carrying out their “vote and die” threat.

No comments